The Bodily Press

by Eliot Cardinaux

the-bodily-press

Official Press Launch
Triple Book Release & Reading
Sat. Feb. 4th, 7:00PM
@ Goodrich House
36 Goodrich Rd.
Jamaica Plain

Dear Friends,

As most of you know, I’ve been publishing small books of poetry on my own for about 4 years now; never digitally, but let’s face it – it gets lonely out there for a guy and a computer, and for a while I’ve wanted to start printing books for other people. Rare bits of music released on tape as well, go hand in hand with that, I guess. So today, The Bodily Press awakens, kneeling; and scratches its head at the altar of technology, at last.

I recently asked a long-time sufferer of mine, an incredible bassist, poet and composer residing in New York City, named Sean Ali (from While We Still Have Bodies, Fester, Hag, Natura Morta, and LathanFlinAli) – if he would be willing to submit some writing for me to print. He agreed, and so The Bodily was born. His new book, Awake Afar Off, will soon be released through the Press.

Also, Jason Belcher (from Pittsburg, PA), a composer of language-based scores among other things, and poetically-stretching pieces (written-for-no-one, in some cases), has a new work of poetry, out on the Bodily soon, called: the Karaoke Symphonies.

…And the blessedly indefatigable Jade Wollin (Boston, MA) as well, making her debut, reading from the forthcoming collection The Good Death, will blow your mind, very shortly.

Official Press Launch
Triple Book Release & Reading
Sat. Feb. 4th, 7:00PM
@ Goodrich House
36 Goodrich Rd.
Jamaica Plain
~

I want this to remain a loyal outlet for the work of artists pushing the boundaries of form in the written and spoken word, and for music I feel needs a place to exist that is special: a home in the “so-called” physical world. I’m most-likely releasing only tapes and small booklets for now, and in very short supply, but nothing digital.

I myself have a new thing or two coming up: a new book called “Nativity,” and also a forthcoming solo recording on cassette, entitled: “March,” on which I play prepared piano.

And now, with the weight of the world upon us, let’s see what comes next.

Best Wishes for the New Year,

Eliot Cardinaux

