Sweet Beyond Witness

by Eliot Cardinaux

Sweet Beyond Witness is a forthcoming solo recording of mine that I’m in the midst of funding. Written, composed, and performed around the idea of what it means to witness beauty in the world amidst the devastation of our current administration, and the baring/bearing witness to the latent destruction going on amidst that beauty − it is informed by a political process, a poetic process, a musical process of editing, composing, and improvising; to trace experience − lifting in and out of “it” in order to see, from a bird’s-eyes angle: potential.

~

Sweet Beyond Witness Campaign Videos

~

The album is recorded and the order of tracks is set. It needs mixing (Eivind Opsvik), mastering (Nate Wood), and manufacturing (CDs) in order for me to get it to you. Other perks will include a chapbook of poems on the album, a digital download on bandcamp.com, and a collection of essays, poetics, and forms that will include the original process notes for the album. Other than that, lessons, poetry, concerts and commissions, and a selection from my latest and past written work and recorded music to date will be offered in exchange, at a low cost, for the various amounts you pledge.

~

Follow the link:

Sweet Beyond Witness

~

In doing this, I’m bringing resources back into the community that would otherwise be lost to advertisers on Spotify, and their shareholders. Choosing musicians whom I trust to do the mixing and mastering will help me do this. Releasing it digitally on bandcamp, a conscientious platform, as well as on CD, with two beautifully bound chapbooks, will not only enable me to bring this musical and poetic project to you in a non-destructive way, but will help me to reach toward each next project that I endeavor to accomplish, and grow from it as well.

 

Just an honest note: holding my standards high in this regard is more critical now than it’s ever been for me. I will perform this music live, and eventually, with the aid of grants and other funding, bring other players into the fold, bringing work to musicians, music to new audiences, as well as revenue to performance spaces, all of those who need it, more than ever − in order to retain such a deep sense of community as fostered in and among we who frequent such events and appreciate such music.

 

Every little bit helps, and I’ve made it affordable enough for virtually anyone to participate. For as little as $5 you can receive a digital download of the album, meaning, to backers who have the means, please consider contributing accordingly. Consider purchasing a lesson for a friend, or relative, or someone who needs it − because this music needs people in order not only to survive, but to thrive. I know I’m not the only one to say this, and I hope you like the record…

~

Follow the link:

Sweet Beyond Witness

~

19989691_10155435737173788_5880574445630734878_n

It is SWEET BEYOND WITNESS to be able to finally present this to you! Thank you − wholeheartedly − in advance, for your support. That means a lot to me; I know you know this music needs you.

All the best,

Eliot

